My first attempt at making a wearable item of clothing

This is my first attempt at sewing an item of clothing.  I have shown the cover of the pattern it was made from.  I was really pleased as it is a proper item of clothing that can be worn (without feeling embarrassed).  In fact I think I will make another one sometime.

My main evaluative points are that it is not lined, which would probably make it hang better. The cotton is not too fine though, so it is still ok.  Secondly I made the waistband slightly wider so that it sits more on my hip.  This didn’t entirely work as it looks a bit odd, although it is comfortable.  I think in future I will try and stick to the instructions – lesson learned!

Leave a Reply

